STARTING POINT OF THE PROJECT

The corona pandemic did not make life any easier for associations either. DIGITAL VEREINT is an initiative of the Technology Foundation Berlin with the aim of enabling the continuation of association work in the digital realm. In August, Citylab Berlin approached us with the idea of producing two films: an image film that makes the work of DIGITAL VEREINT plausible and an explanatory film that clarifies the Senate's Smart City strategy. Both films were to run in an exhibition just three weeks later. This was a real time challenge for our film production as well.

OUR APPROACH

The starting point for our work in this case were only two rather long, somewhat unwieldy speaker texts. Due to the Corona period, there was no visual material, no audio material. We quickly decided to work with our partners at JOJOMOTO to animate the explanatory film for the Smart City strategy. Assets were designed - and directly implemented. For the DIGITAL VEREINT video, the special challenge was to find interview partners and film locations within a few days.

Implementation

It is important to us to present even unwieldy contexts in an emotionally comprehensible way. The aesthetic core idea of the short film thus became disappearance: Places that empty out, offices that stand deserted, a garden left to its own devices. We don't particularly like stock footage - we wanted to shoot all the images ourselves if possible. Fortunately, we have been living and working in Berlin for over 20 years and are part of a huge network. So the video for DIGITAL VEREINT was realised within two weeks, including editing.

SIMILAR PROJECTS

Our film and video production is very happy to work for foundations, NGOs and associations.  Of course, we do not see ourselves purely as service providers in this context and so our involvement often goes far beyond the production of a film or video. At the end of 2021, for example, we produced a film for the project MARBLES OF REMEMBRANCE of Arolsen Archives  organised a joint excursion day with around 30 children from a Waldorf school in Berlin.

Ausgangspunkt des Projektes

Die Coronapandemie machte auch das Leben der Vereine nicht leichter. DIGITAL VEREINT ist eine Initiative der Technologiestiftung Berlin mit dem Ziel, die Fortsetzung von Vereinsarbeit im Digitalen zu ermöglichen. Im August trat das Citylab Berlin mit der Idee an uns heran, zwei Filme zu produzieren: einen Imagefilm, der die Arbeit von DIGITAL VEREINT plausibel macht und einen Erklärfilm, der die Smart City Strategie des Senats verdeutlicht. Beide Filme sollten nur drei Wochen später in einer Ausstellung laufen. Das war auch für unsere Filmproduktion  eine echte zeitliche Herausforderung

UNSERE HERANGEHENSWEISE

Ausgangspunkt unserer Arbeit waren in diesem Fall nur zwei recht lange, etwas sperrige Sprecher:innentexte. Es gab aufgrund der Coronazeit kein Bildmaterial, kein Audiomaterial. Schnell entschieden wir uns dafür, zusammen mit unseren Partnern von JOJOMOTO den Erklärfilm für die Smart City Strategie zu animieren. Assets wurden entworfen - und direkt umgesetzt. Für das Video von DIGITAL VEREINT lag die besondere Herausforderung darin, innerhalb weniger Tage Interviewpartner:innen und Drehorte zu finden.

Umsetzung

Uns ist es wichtig, auch sperrige Zusammenhänge emotional nachvollziehbar darzustellen. Ästhetische Kernidee des kurzen Films wurde so das Verschwinden: Plätze, die sich leeren, Büros, die verwaist stehen, ein Garten, der sich selbst überlassen wird. Stock Footage mögen wir nicht besonders gern - wir wollten alle Bilder möglichst selbst drehen. Glücklicherweise leben und arbeiten wir seit über 20 Jahren in Berlin und sind Teil eines riesigen Netzwerkes. So ließ sich das Video für DIGITAL VEREINT innerhalb von zwei Wochen incl. Schnitt umsetzen.

Ähnliche Projekte

Unsere Film- und Videoproduktion arbeitet sehr gerne für Stiftungen, NROs und Vereine.  Natürlich verstehen wir uns in diesem Zusammenhang nicht als reine Dienstleister und so geht unser Engagement oft weit über die Produktion eines Films oder Videos hinaus. Ende 2021 haben wir beispielsweise für das Projekt MURMELN DER ERINNERUNG der Arolsen Archives  einen gemeinsamen Ausflugstag mit rund 30 Kindern einer Berliner Waldorfschule organisiert.