"Complex social issues are congenially translated into moving images".

commentary on #netzrevolte

VIDEO PRODUCTION FOR SOCIAL MEDIA

Is every shared video social media content?
Strictly speaking, a video shared on social media such as Facebook, Instagram or Twitter is far from being "social media content" - because it remains a visual monologue. It is only through other factors such as context, a certain multimedia quality, usability and accessibility that make senseful social media content out of a video.

VIDEOS cross the boundaries of these two worlds. They translate real experiences into digital content and they create real engagement through shared bits and bytes. As a filmproduction, we find borderline areas exciting - that's why we've been doing artistic research in the field of visual language for about 20 years.

How does the actual production of videos for social media work in our film production?
You would like to have an image film produced, commission a media presentation of your association, NGO or company, transform an artist's portrait or a dance project into visual music? Maybe you already have a clearly defined idea, maybe you just have the desire or the budget to produce "something good". In our experience, successful videos in social media are only created if you consider the overall context of the production: who do you want to reach, what aesthetics best convey your vision, where does the video fit within existing video content?

What do we start with?
As a Berlin based film production, we love every form of research! At the beginning of every collaboration there is an artistic, content-related and social examination of the topic - or product. Only then does it make sense to concretise a project. From a one-man venture in Calcutta (India) to a cinema production with a team of 40 people, our film production has done it all. Every form and every budget has its advantages and disadvantages. Often it is the combination of streamed live events, pre-produced video content and parallel music release that makes a project effective. That's why we like to look at projects beyond the boundaries of just one medium. It's in our blood, because we work in all formats, from feature films to imagefilm, music videos and international documentaries to video installations.

What projects does our film production do?
Last year, despite Corona, we were able to realise a wide variety of projects: from a documentary music video (SOS Kinderdorf Lausitzto a short feature film in Pakistan on the topic of "sustainable sports goods" (Engagement Globale), image films on the topic of digital bullying (Netzrevolte) Digital strategies for associations (Digital Vereint), zur Smart City Strategya social media campaign on climate change (Eineinhalb Grad), as well as some artist portraits (Embassy of Singapore).

What does a video production cost?

Basically, there are two ways to determine the costs of an obviously very individual project: either you approach us with a budget and we see what can be set up with it. Or we first develop a joint vision (perhaps you already have this) and then calculate the project on the basis of daily rates.

In both cases, we will be transparent in every respect. There will be a defined budget that we stick to - and you will not incur any costs for any of the preliminary meetings.

We think in projects. In Berlin and internationally.

BEHIND THE SCENES

VIDEOPRODUKTION FÜR SOCIAL MEDIA

Ist jedes Video auch Social Media Content?
Genau genommen ist ein Video, das auf sozialen Medien wie Facebook, Instagram oder Twitter geteilt wird, noch lange kein „Social Media Content“ – denn es bleibt ein visueller Monolog. Erst durch andere Faktoren wie Kontext, eine gewisse Multimedialität, usability und Zugänglichkeit wird ein Video zu brauchbarem Social Media Content.

VIDEOS überschreiten die Grenzen zwischen realer und digitaler Welt. Sie übersetzen Erfahrungen in digitalen Content und bewirken reales Engagement aufgrund von geteilten Bits und Bytes. Wir als Filmproduktion finden Grenzbereiche sehr spannend – deswegen forschen wir seit rund 20 Jahren künstlerisch im Bereich der visuellen Sprache.

Wie läuft die konkrete Produktion von Videos für Social Media bei unserer Filmproduktion ab?
Sie möchten einen Imagefilm produzieren lassen, eine mediale Selbstdarstellung ihres Vereins, Ihrer NRO oder Ihres Unternehmens in Auftrag geben, ein KünstlerInnenporträt oder ein Tanzprojekt in visuelle Musik verwandeln? Vielleicht haben Sie schon eine klar definierte Vorstellung, vielleicht ist auch nur der Wunsch, oder das Budget da, um „etwas Gutes“ zu produzieren. Unserer Erfahrung nach entstehen in den Sozialen Medien erfolgreiche Videos nur, wenn man den Gesamtkontext der Produktion betrachtet: wen will man erreichen, welche Ästhetik transportiert am besten die eigene Vision, wo verortet sich das zu produzierende Video innerhalb von schon bestehendem Videocontent?

Womit fangen wir an?
Wir als Berliner Filmproduktion lieben jede Form von Recherche. Am Anfang jeder Zusammenarbeit steht für uns eine künstlerische, inhaltliche und soziale Auseinandersetzung mit dem Thema – oder Produkt. Erst dann macht es Sinn, ein Projekt zu konkretisieren. Von der Ein-Mann-Unternehmung in Kalkutta (Indien) bis zur Kinoproduktion mit einem Team von 40 Leuten hat unsere Filmproduktion in den letzten zwanzig Jahren alles gemacht. Jede Form und jedes Budget hat seine Vor- und Nachteile. Oft ist es auch die Kombination von gestreamten Liveveranstaltungen, vorproduziertem Videocontent und parallelem Musikrelease, die ein Projekt wirksam werden lässt. Deswegen betrachten wir Vorhaben gerne über die Grenzen nur eines Mediums hinweg. Das liegt uns im Blut, denn vom Kinospielfilm über Musikvideo, Imagefilm, internationalen dokumentarischen Arbeiten bis hin zur Videoinstallation arbeiten wir in allen Formaten.

Welche Projekte macht unsere Filmproduktion?
Im letzten Jahr haben wir trotz Corona die verschiedensten Projekte realisieren können: vom dokumentarischen Musikvideo (SOS Kinderdorf Lausitz) über einen Kurzspielfilm in Pakistan zum Thema „Nachhaltige Sportartikel“ (Engagement Globale), einem kleinen Imagefilm zum Thema digitales Mobbing (Netzrevolte), einigen KünstlerInnenporträts (Botschaft von Singapur) sowie eine große Social Media Kampagne zum Thema Multiple Sklerose (Merck Deutschland) – die aufgrund von Corona verschoben werden musste.

Was kostet eine Videoproduktion?

Grundsätzlich gibt es zwei Wege, die Kosten eines offensichtlich sehr individuellen Projektes zu bestimmen: entweder Sie kommen mit einem Budget auf uns zu und wir schauen, was sich damit auf die Beine stellen lässt. Oder wir entwickeln zunächst eine gemeinsame Vision (vielleicht haben Sie diese ja auch schon) und kalkulieren das Projekt dann aufgrund von Tagessätzen.

In beiden Fällen werden wir in jeder Hinsicht transparent sein. Es wird ein definiertes Budget geben, an das wir uns halten – und für keine der Vorbesprechungen werden Ihnen Kosten entstehen.

Wir denken in Projekten. In Berlin und international.

BEHIND THE SCENES