STARTING POINT OF THE PROJECT

The music video for FAUN was our sixth collaboration with Electrola / UNIVERSAL MUSIC. The special challenge was to create a video that fits into the existing FAUN universe on the one hand and to introduce a new singer on the other. In addition, there was a tight time frame and a very low budget compared to the demand (like "Game of Thrones").

OUR APPROACH

Step by step we started translating the lyrics into action. The idea was to make the music video look like Game of Thrones in parts. But how could that be done budget-wise - to create a look that would otherwise cost many times as much?

FAUN is a very established band with a broad and loyal fan base. Our idea was therefore to address these fans directly and invite them to take part in the shoot in "costume". At the same time, we went on a castle tour through Saxony - and were very lucky to find not only the perfect location in Kriebstein Castle - but also real FAUN fans.

Realisation of the music video

40 extras in old costumes, a horse, a medieval castle, drone shots, SFX fire and dance. The video for FAUN was a real logistical challenge for our film- and videoproduction. The make-up alone for the entire extras series took hours. In just three days of shooting, we created an imaginary medieval world. This was only possible because of a great community that was palpable from day one.

The highlight was a free improvisation by the band - with fans moving wildly around them in a circle. Over three million clicks show that the spark was there. 40 extras in old costumes, a horse, a medieval castle, drone shots, SFX fire and dance. The video for FAUN was a real logistical challenge. The make-up alone for the entire extras series took hours. In just three days of shooting, we created an imaginary medieval world. This was only possible because of a great community that was palpable from day one.

On youtube a user (Roxanne) wrote: "This video is better than a full-length feature film! What a story! What a song! What voices! Breathtaking."

Ausgangspunkt des Projektes

Das Musikvideo für FAUN war unsere sechste Zusammenarbeit mit Electrola / UNIVERSAL MUSIC. Die besondere Herausforderung lag darin, einerseits ein Video zu schaffen, das ins  bestehende FAUN Universum passt und andererseits eine neue Sängerin einzuführen.  Dazu kam ein enger Zeitrahmen und im Vergleich zum Anspruch (wie "Game of Thrones") ein sehr geringes Budget.

UNSERE HERANGEHENSWEISE

Schritt für Schritt begannen wir mit der Übersetzung der Lyrics in Handlung. Die Idee war es, das Musikvideo in Teilen wie Game of Thrones aussehen zu lassen. Doch wie sollte das Budgettechnisch gehen - einen Look zu erzeugen, der sonst ein Vielfaches kostet?

FAUN ist eine sehr etablierte Band mit einer breiten und treuen Fangemeinde. Unsere Idee war es daher, diese Fans direkt anzusprechen und einzuladen, im "Kostüm" am Dreh teilzunehmen. Parallel dazu machten wir uns auf eine Burgentour durch Sachsen - und hatten das große Glück, in der Burg Kriebstein nicht nur den perfekten Ort zu finden - sondern auch echte FAUN Fans.

Realisierung des Musikvideos

40 Kompars:innen in alten Kostümen, ein Pferd, eine mittelalterliche Burg, Drohnenaufnahmen, SFX Feuer und Tanz. Das Video für FAUN war eine echte logistische Herausforderung. Allein die Maske für die gesamte Komparserie dauerte Stunden. An nur drei Drehtagen ließen wir eine imaginäre mittelalterliche Welt entstehen. Dies ging nur aufgrund einer tollen Gemeinschaft, die vom ersten Tag an spürbar war.

Höhepunkt war eine freie Improvisation der Band - mit wild um sie im Kreis sich bewegenden Fans. Über drei Millionen Klicks zeigen, dass der Funke da übergesprungen ist.

Auf Youtube schrieb Roxanne als Kommentar: "This video is better than a full-length feature film! What a story! What a song! What voices! Breathtaking."